We offer a mix of client education events and entertainment events. If you would like to be added to our invitation list, please click here. You can also view past education webinars by clicking this link Living Plan Webinar Series.


Upcoming Virtual Events


Throughout the year, we host a variety of virtual events at no cost to you. If you're interested in attending any of the events below, send us an email at angela.rea@igpwm.ca and let us know which one.

 

finances & dementia

Finances and Dementia: Advice for the journey
Thursday, May 5, 2022
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

More than 500,000 Canadians are living with dementia today, a number projected to double in less than 10 years. The impact doesn't stop there, because 1 in 5 Canadians have experience caring for someone with dementia. 

The seniors, parents and grandparents of our communities often face unique financial challenges that come with age. For those facing the journey with dementia, the need for advice has never been greater. 

Join Christine Van Cauwenberghe, Head of Financial Planning, IG Wealth Management, and Dr. Saskia Sivananthan, Chief Research & Knowledge Translation Officer, Alzheimer Society of Canada for this interactive webinar. 

Together they will provide: 

- Tips and tools for wealth planning for aging individuals
- Advice for caregivers and people living with dementia
- Tax considerations and resources available for Canadians



Past Virtual Events

 

Navigating the new normal

Navigating the new normal
Thursday, April 28, 2022
12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET | 4 pm AT | 4:30 pm NL

Join Chief Investment Strategist Philip Petursson for an in-depth discussion on market volatility, global turmoil, and future opportunities. Philip will be joined by Christine Van Cauwenberghe, Head of Financial Planning, who will discuss financial planning issues that have concerned clients during the pandemic, and ways to plan for life’s ups and downs.

Invest In Our Planet

Invest in our planet: The sustainable economy
Thursday, April 21, 2022
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

Earth Day 2022 takes place on April 22nd and this year’s theme is 'Invest in our Planet.' This pre-Earth Day webinar will help you understand why many investors are getting in on the opportunity to take part in the sustainable economy with topics including:

- Balancing our short-term needs and our future sustainability: climate change and the energy crisis
- The capital needed to sustain our planet: different ways that investors can participate
- Managing global emissions: the role of decarbonization versus nature-based solutions (carbon offsets)
- Sustainability beyond climate: other considerations that every investor should know

Our panel includes Fate Saghir (Head of Sustainable, Responsible & Impact Investing, Mackenzie Investments), Philip Petursson (Chief Investment Strategist, IG Wealth Management), Justin Cochrane (Founder & CEO, Carbon Streaming Corporation), and Andrew Simpson (SVP, Portfolio Manager, Mackenzie Investments).

Retirement For Today

Retirement for today’s changing world: Exposing the top five myths of retirement planning
Thursday, February 24, 2022
4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT | 8:30 pm NL

Join personal finance expert and bestselling author Melissa Leong, along with IG Wealth Management’s Herp Lamba and Coleen Taylor, as they expose the top myths and guide us through some of the key considerations of retirement planning.

This live and interactive webinar will include a Q&A session with the panel, as well as tackle some of the key questions Canadians have when considering their retirement plan, such as:

- What will your cost of living will be in retirement?
- Are RRSPs all you need for a retirement plan?
- How conservative should an investment portfolio become in retirement?
- Is it possible to carry debt into retirement?
- If I manage my own investments, will it increase my income in retirement

Beat the Winter Blues

Beat the Winter Blues
Thursday, February 10, 2022
5 pm PT | 6 pm MT | 7 pm CT | 8 pm ET | 9 pm AT | 9:30 pm NL

Join us February 10, 2022 for our Beat the Winter Blues event, hosted by author, podcaster and CTV personality, Andrea Bain.

Joining Andrea are:
- Mental health advocate and comedian Jessica Holmes
- TV physician Dr. Marla Shapiro
- Juno award-winning star of Canadian R&B Jully Black

Get inspired by four powerhouse women of Canadian entertainment as they discuss topics of mind, body and soul, and resilience in a year like no other. 

2022 Market Outlook with Philip Petursson

2022 Market Outlook with Philip Petursson
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET | 4 pm AT | 4:30 pm NL

Join Chief Investment Strategist Philip Petursson as he shares his 2022 market outlook with host Herp Lamba, Senior Vice-President, IG Wealth Management.

The session will cover:
- What might investors expect - bull, bear, or something in between?
- What impact will inflation have on the markets if not kept in check?
- Trends to watch closely in 2022

Throughout the event there will be a live, interactive, Q&A session with Philip.